Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,830

1 members and 2,829 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma

Thread: Tegu Substrate

Thanks

Tegu Substrate

Hello, i'm working on my large tegu tank currently.... I just relized how much cypress mulch i am going to need in order to give him enough depth to burrow...... What are some good alternatives or ways to get cypress mulch cheaper?? or are there alternatives???? thanks!
    1.0 Normal BP
    1.0 Mainland Reticulated
    1.0 High lines Red Tail Boa

Thanks

Re: Tegu Substrate

I'm no expert, but here's what I've read/done myself:

You can check with landscapers in your area - they may be able to point you in the direction of where to purchase pure cypress mulch. You'll want to be careful - I bought cypress mulch at Lowes until I realized it could be mixed with different woods like pine (which is toxic). You'll want to make sure you check for pure.

I've read about other people using a soil/sand mixture, which you could pick up anywhere, or peat. The peat stays damp so it would require some maintenance making sure it doesn't mold, but it holds humidity well.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ladywhipple02 For This Useful Post:

dylan815 (11-20-2017)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ladywhipple02 View Post

You can check with landscapers in your area - they may be able to point you in the direction of where to purchase pure cypress mulch. You'll want to be careful - I bought cypress mulch at Lowes until I realized it could be mixed with different woods like pine (which is toxic). You'll want to make sure you check for pure.