Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,939

0 members and 2,939 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Which species should I get next?

I am pretty new to the world of kingsnakes (and milk snakes), so I don't know much about all the different species. Colubrids can be fun snakes as pets because they are more energetic than their bigger cousins like pythons and boas, and I want to start expanding my collection to have kingsnakes. There are probably a few different species of kingsnakes I would like to have in my full collection later on, but I'm not sure which species I should start with. Visually, I love the look of Mexican Black Kingsnakes and Gray-banded Kingsnakes. But I was wondering, out of all the different types of kingsnakes (including milk snakes) which ones generally have good personalities and are better with handling? What species would you recommend for me to get as my first kingsnake and why?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to SomeTallGuy For This Useful Post:

Godzilla78 (10-25-2017)

Thanks
    No Colubrids here (yet) but the one I'd want most is the Black Milk Snake from Costa Rica/Panama. Interesting how they start out red, black, white and/or yellow and turn completely black into adulthood. Since you like the Mexican Kings, I'd look into the black milks too... most owners rave about them in terms of personality/handling. Goggle black king vs. milk and most side with owning the milk.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,487 Times in 2,686 Posts

Re: Which species should I get next?