Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,972

2 members and 2,970 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

Tips to convert to frozen?

I'm new to the hobby and received my first bp last Tuesday. He's a one month old BEL and I'm in love. I gave him a week to adjust and attempted to feed yesterday. Previously his breeder had been feeding him live hopper mice, however I'd like to convert to f/t. I fed him at night, heating up the frozen hopper for around two hours in warm water. I placed the bucket next to his tank so he could smell it. When the mouse was ready, I doused it in hot water for ten seconds and offered it to my bp. He alternated between sniffing and hissing it, taking a few strikes that either missed or seemed to be defensive. After half an hour I left the mouse at the entrance to his hide overnight. He wanted nothing to do with it.

Should I attempt the same thing next week or do something different? Did I not wait long enough? Like I said, I'm pretty new to the hobby and while I've done my research, I feel that advice from those who are more knowledgeable never hurts! I'm also not opposed to feeding live to get him started, but I really would like to get him on f/t.

Tank specs:

10 gal
    Hot side temp ranges between 85-95 degrees F
    Cool side temp usually around 75 degrees F
    Humidity comfortably between 50-65 degrees
    He has two hides, one on each side, a heat mat on the hot side, and a water bowl on the cool side.

Thank you you for taking the time to read this! Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,478 Times in 824 Posts