Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,572

1 members and 1,571 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
    Thanks

are there any smaller boas?

i'm looking to get a bigger snake but i don't want something quite as big as a red tail. i was thinking about the size of a brazilian rainbow boa or a hog island boa. (i want a male about 5ft) but since i'm a beginner i don't want a rainbow because of the humidity and i can't find a hog island anywhere. are there any smaller boas that are easy to take care of and relatively easy to get and affordable?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to eeethannn For This Useful Post:

Lady mkrj58 (08-06-2017)

Thanks
    Thanked 4,897 Times in 2,992 Posts

Re: are there any smaller boas?

Why settle for second best !?
    BRBs ( Brazilian Rainbow boas ) are a contender for best looking snake , stay a manageable size and many have them for their first snake .

It will just mean doing some research .
    I started with a Corn snake but within 3 months I'd moved onto a BRB and had no issues . I bought an Exo Terra glass viv and used a mix of Eco-earth and orchid bark as a substrate .. .. Gave the substrate a real good soaking and simply kept it damp with regular water spraying .
    I then went a step further and added a carpet of lush green moss which lay on top of the substrate , looked fabulous and the BRB loved crawling under it and spending daylight hours there and always looked great . In the evenings , of course , he came alive exploring the viv and loved climbing branches ( as many snakes do given the opportunity ) .

I'd do plenty of research and then get the snake you REALLY want

4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Zincubus For This Useful Post: