Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,365

4 members and 3,361 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,537
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Need help making an incubator

Hi all, I'm brand new to this forum (my first post) and this is my first year breeding ball Pythons. I have two females that are gravid , a Superfly and a Het Clown, and am hoping they may lay soonish (I started the breeding season kinda late). I have several more females that I'm planning on breeding next year so I'll need to make a larger incubator but wasn't really sure what to go with. I've seen plenty of people convert old fridges into incubators which I'd love to do, but I'd really like to have a glass front to the incubator so I can monitor the eggs closely without disturbing them too much (and I can't find any glass front fridges other than really small wine coolers). I've also seen people make their own incubators out of PVC but my local plastic store doesn't carry any pvc, only 1/4" ABS and it's 150$ per 4'x 8' (kinda pricey if I have to put two together for 1/2"). I'm just wondering if anyone has any ideas for a larger incubator on a budget (>10 clutches of ball Pythons with hopeful expansion down the road). Any input will be highly appreciated.
    Cheers!

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

Re: Need help making an incubator

Welcome to the ball-python.net forums!

I used to know a couple of guys who made snake cages out of 1/8 inch thick masonite. This is a composition panel that comes in 4x8 foot panels and is much cheaper than plastic. The stuff is too flexable to stand alone, but tacking or gluing it to 1x2 inch wood strips makes it much stiffer.