Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,867

1 members and 1,866 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 695 Posts

Synchronized swimming?

Lol, I guess that's what you could call it. I'm observing some odd behavior with my ball pythons. I'm still pretty new to keeping ball pythons even though my first was over 20 years ago and over the years I've had many snakes and other reptiles but my new obsession with ball pythons has really just started over the last few months. So I'm really still just learning their behavior. I had an adult female start soaking about two weeks ago but she has been breeding and I believe she is building so this is pretty typical behavior before ovulating. But now the weird thing is 6 of my 7 have also started soaking for the last two days. The only one not is a new one I just received two days ago. They seem completely healthy, all eat consitantly and there are no mites, I would of seen some by now but I've been checking very closely and in the water because that was my first thought. Humidity and temperature right where I want them. All but two are in rack systems I built. The heat tape is at 95 and ambient temp is 81. Humidity is between 70-80. They have all been shedding without issues, one full shed. The other two pythons are in display tanks in a different room but temps and humidity are kept almost the same, just ambient temp is a little lower at 75. They have a hide on the cool and hot side of tank. I can't really think of anything else. I just find it so odd that they are all soaking right now. All of my previous pythons have enjoyed a good soak once in a while but I never really related it to anything. Now with six doing it at the same time I can't help