Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,508

1 members and 2,507 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Temperature help?

Hey everyone. I'm completely new in the world of snakes but a BP is something I have been interested in owning for years. I've had a variety of animals but have never had the opportunity to own a reptile. I'm not ready to get one yet since I still have plenty of research to do, and it honestly may not even happen right now because I'm concerned about the temperature requirements.

I'm aware that snakes live in higher temperatures and require a heating source. My problem is that the only place I have room to keep one is in my bedroom... Which also houses my chinchilla. Chinchillas require low temperatures so my bedroom is usually cold. It never gets higher than 70, usually stays between 60-65.
    Can I efficiently keep the snake at the proper temperatures in a room that cold? Since this would be my first animal that requires a heating source, I'm not sure how difficult it is to maintain the temperature of the tank in a colder area.

Someone also mentioned that keeping one in the same room as the chinchilla could be a problem because it would constantly be smelling prey. Is that true as well? I'll hold off until I move into a larger place that allows me to house it separately. Nobody I know actually owns a snake so that's why I've come here to speak to those with experience directly. The health and happiness of my babies matters the most so I'm looking forward to hearing what you guys have to say.