Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,902

3 members and 2,899 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma

Thread: So many eggs

Thanks

So many eggs

I've had my cockatiel for about ten years now, and when I went away to college in 2012 I couldn't bring her with me, so she stayed at home with my mother. When I came home the next summer, she surprised us with eggs! Our joke theory is that she thinks we're married and was trying to get me to stay with children. We've only got the one bird, so the eggs were all duds, and we got some calcium supplements to put on her food and some extra cuttlebones and called it done. The same thing happened the summer after that, and the one after that, all the way till I graduated last spring. She always stopped laying/brooding a few weeks after I left again for the next semester, so we assumed she'd do the same thing this year.

Except now it's january and she's still laying. She's laid maybe two dozen eggs between june and now, and has changed nesting spots twice. She's got the run of my room, her first spot was in a low open storage space in my desk, the next was a similar spot just higher up, and now she's switched to under a small table next to my desk. We've still got her on the calcium powder, and she's shown no ill effects or symptoms, but it worries me that she's put out so many and shows no signs of stopping, I can't tell if she's getting enough calcium and vitamins or not, with all the eggs have to be taking out of her.

Any advice to get her to stop laying? Or anything extra to add to her diet to help compensate for the egg toll?

Thanks