Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,845

0 members and 2,845 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,078
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,322 Times in 1,367 Posts
    Blog Entries

Question perlite/water mix in incubator

i am making an incubator for my crested eggs using perlite. i read to use 2 parts perlite to 1 part water. this slipped my mind (oops) and i mixed 1 part perlite to 1 part water, but that doesn't seem like all that wet of a mixture. it is moist but doesn't seem too moist...but i have no experience in this department. what ratio do you use (if you do the perlite/water mix)? is there a certain level or range of humidity that i want to achieve?
    - Emily

Thanks

Re: perlite/water mix in incubator

I think the consistency is supposed to be able to clump slightly when squeezed together, with no extra water laying around.

If I'm wrong, please correct me.
    --Becky--
    ?.? Normals, 1.0 100% Het Pied Classic Jungle, 1.0 Yellow Hypo, 0.1 100% Het Butterscotch Hypo, 0.1 100% Het VPI Hypo, 0.1 100% Het Yellow Hypo, 1.0 Enchi, 1.1 Yellowbellies, 0.1 YB Granite, 1.0 Black Pastel, 1.0 Lemon Pastel, 0.1 50% Possible Het Banded Albino, 0.1 Spider, 1.0 Fire, 0.2 Granite

Thanks

yep thats what I have read just about everywhere. where did you get your perlite from? I will need some eventually and was wondering about good suppliers.
    -Daniel Hill
    Facebook: facebook.com/hillherp/
    Instagram: instagram.com/hillherp/
    Twitter: twitter.com/hillherp

Thanks