Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,908

1 members and 2,907 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,087
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Children & hobbies... are they mutually exclusive?

So I am getting married next summer and my fiance and I have been talking about potentially having children in the future. At first neither of us wanted to, but now my sister is pregnant and we are sort of reconsidering. My biggest fear is that having a kid will basically make me a one dimensional person-- THE PARENT. So many of my friends on FB who were interested in all sorts of things prior to kids now only talk about or post about their kids. It's all they do. I'm just getting started on breeding geckos. I read a lot, and hike and fish and hunt. I love who I am now. My fiance loves who she is. We're worried that to become parents would mean giving all of that up. So I was wondering if some of you who DO have kids and are herp keepers/breeders could weigh in on this. And if you DON'T have kids... do you worry about the same things?
    Malcolm, '12 normal | Alice, '14 Pied | Sebastían, '15 Mojave | Damián, '16 Albino

View My iHerp Page

Thanks
    Thanked 4,602 Times in 3,139 Posts
    Most parents easily make most sacrifices on behalf of their children and are glad to.

It doesn't mean that you have to become a changed person, it just means that your priorities are in order.

Having a child will show you what is truly important in life, family. Everything else is just minutiae.

I'm not a breeder, just obsessed with my snakes. But I have raised two fine girls that are on their own.

I don't regret having them in the least in place of selfish desires that I no longer remember.