Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,136

0 members and 3,136 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Stylish lighting and heating?

Hello,

Im new to BPs.. i dont have one yet, in the research and pricing stage of everything. Ive already decided that i want an exo-terra 36x18x18 tank. I know that the taller tank is harder to keep humid, but I feel bad keeping it in such a shallow tank, even knowing it doesnt need the exta vertical space. The problem I'm running into is that I am very conscious of the appearance of the enclosure. I dont want too many things hanging off of it that dont need to, or anything movable around it. This includes a dome light fixture. I find it to be very ugly and hoping to avoid using one if I can, and instead, using a tank canopy and a UTH.

My first pick is obviously exo-terra's compact, but its only rated to 4x 40 watt bulbs that sit horizontally in the fixture. Because this will be my only light source, it will probably need to be running night time bulbs full time as to not disturb the BP. If i need to figure out some way to do day and night bulbs on a cycle, that is also an option. Also note that I intend to get a herpstat 2 to help with controls/cycles etc.

Exo tera's night time 40 watt incandescent bulbs (blue) show that more than 8 inches away from the source, the bulb is only producing 68 degrees of heat (actually the 25w and 15w say the same temp). My question is, would 4 of these bulbs be sufficient at maintaining an 80 degree ambient temp, or is there any other way to make this setup work without needing a big ugly dome?
    Last edited by HanabiraAsashi; 12-15-2015 at 11:27 PM.

Thanks

Re: Stylish lighting and heating?