Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,078

3 members and 3,075 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,092
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Thanks

Not eating post shed

Hello everyone. I am new at owning and caring for a snake. I got a young male albino ball python 2 weeks ago. He has eaten successfully for me twice, the first time it was f/t hopper mouse 4 days after bringing him home and feeding #2 was 7 days ago a f/t rat pup. The reptile store that I got him from said that they were feeding him live rat pups every 7 day and he was eating good. They could not tell me his exact age but I weighed him at 184 gms when I got him home. I weighed him a week later and he was up to 199gm. This past Wednesday he went through a complete shed. His belly turned slightly pink and his skin was dullish looking. His eyes since the are red only get cloudy not bluish. So the next night which was Thursday I thawed him out a frozen rat pup ( in a bag in warm water, blow dried and checked temp with IF gun to 100 degrees). He had zero interest so I refroze it and decided to try later. Side note-his first meal was in a separate feeding tub (before I read all the threads not to do this) and the second feeding was in his enclosure, he took about 30 minutes to eat it after leaving the room and turning off all the lights except for the IFR light on his cage. So last night I thought he probably was hungry so I warmed the rat pup on top of his cage then blow dried it in the room getting the rat smell in the air. I used tongs to do the zombie dance and zombie walk. Nothing, no interest. If fact he seemed a bit freaked out and moved to the back of the cage. I decided to leave it by his warm hide and left the room dark and quite. I kept on peeping in every 30 minutes to check. At one point