Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,027

1 members and 3,026 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,083
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, NopeRopeMD
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Thanks

Ball Python rescue and vet screwd me over

Hello everyone, I am new to being a ball python owner, I did about a year of research and saving before purchasing my little guy off off kijiji from a family that did not want him he came to me with RI and scaring galor which have cleared up but as well as that he had a bad shed and even though i soaked him the tail bits must have not come of properly and the result was bleeding,then scaring then scabbing i think ( trying to post photos not sure how), the vet gave me flamazine which actually made it worse and is not making individual scales slough off, ( the vet in general was rude, manhandled my snake when it wasn't necicairy and spent less then 15 minutes looking at him before prescribing flamazine ) after research i found out that one of the elements in flamazine ( Silver Sulfadiazine ) causes slower healing periods, not to mention the sloughing of scales. anyway now i have this what i think is a scab, a very active python (eating and putting on weight ) and a months worth of flamazine treatment that has caused the injury to expand. any ideas?

( please pardon any spelling errors I have very major dyslexia )
    also if anyone knows how to post photos please tell me i would love to show whats going on to get better answers ! thank you for everyones time !

temp 25 celcius in cold spot 31- 35 during the day hot spot 25-26 hot spot at night
    paper towl bedding, spot cleaned and chaned after every poop as well as full change and wash after shed ( 1:1 vinigar watter) climb tree, 2 hides, watter changed every day, eating well medium rats.