Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,844

1 members and 2,843 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Question I have a concern about my ball python...advise please

Hi, this is my first time on this site. The snake is my daughters', our first and he's about 10 mths old. He's really sweet and docile...well was until tonight. I held him for a few minutes, as I often do and then he just went for my finger. Took a while for him to let go...had to run him under water. I believe it was probably because I was handling the ferret just before hand and only rinsed my hands, didn't wash them. So, I attribute this bite to the scent of the ferret on my hands. There was a lot of blood and so he probably enjoyed the taste, meanwhile connecting it to ferret scent. So, my concern is: He's in the same room with the ferret (my daughter's room). Do you think since he has experienced the smell of the ferret and the taste of blood, he will constantly be focused on the ferret in the same room with him? If you don't already know this, ferrets have such a STRONG odor. You can smell her scent downstairs. Do you think the scent will preoccupy him and he may now become more aggressive? I don't know if this is a stupid question but my concern is that he will continue to lash out for as long as he is motivated by ferret scent.

Thanks

I have a concern about my ball python...advise please

I don't see why it should change his behavior. It was most likely just the scent on your hands. I keep rodents in the same room as my snakes, and haven't had any issues. Granted, ferrets do smell much stronger. When was the last time your ball was fed?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,140 Times in 1,556 Posts
    Blog Entries