Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,725

1 members and 2,724 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable

Thread: Best UTH?

Thanks

Best UTH?

Hello everyone!

I'm working on setting up my first snake enclosure and need advice on UTHs. I've been keeping crested geckos for about 5 years now, but have wanted to try keeping a snake for quite a while. I've decided to go with a hognose (if I can find one...a BP if a hog is not available) and am buying all the supplies I need before I acquire the snake.

I have 2 tanks available to use for this project, a 10gl and 20gl long and need advice on what brand / size of UTH would be best for either tank. I will most likely setup both and then use the most appropriately sized one based on which animal I bring home (going to repticon Atlanta at the end of the month, so not sure what will be available there). I will be using a thermostat with the UTH and plan on using a thermometer w/ probe and an infrared temp gun also to monitor temps in the setup.

The only UTHs I've found, other than the zoomed ones, are the intellitemp ones sold by bigappleherp...I do not know if these are a good product..according to their website, these are safer because they do not get as hot as the other UTHs. If you can give me an opinion on these, or recommend another brand that would also be a good choice and which sizes I would need for each tank that would be great.

I also have one other question regarding UTHs... if one is attached to the bottom of a glass terrarium, what types of surfaces are safe to put it on? Would a finished wood surface (i.e. desk) be safe, or is there a risk of these getting so hot they could cause a fire on a wooden surface?

Thank you for your time and help!
    Artgecko

Thanks