Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,213

2 members and 3,211 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

When to pull a male from breeding for the season.

I have a bumble bee male I've been breeding with my 3 big normals and my pastel girl. They have also been breeding with the butter het ghost. He is obviously in breeding mode as he has no interest in food what so ever and seems to always be looking for a girl in the room. He locks up really fast and every time he is paired, usually within a couple hours. He has only eaten once since he started pairing in the beginning but has stopped since. This was in November.

I know this is my first time breeding so maybe I started him to early but I want to make sure the girls have the best chance to get pregnant. Each of the girls is paired every few weeks with one or the other alternating.

He was about 1,175 when I started and is now about 1,065 so he has lost about 100 grams during the process and is looking lean but not skinny. I know some people say you need to get him out of the room and away from the females to get them out of that breeding mind set and to start eating again. How much weight loss and or time is too much when it comes to breeding a male for the season. The girls have been paired 5-6 time each by one or the other male.

After these 4 I have no other plans for him this season.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Are you sure the 1175g weight was empty? I wouldn't be concerned at all about less than 10% on a boy that size. I am having to pull a small male from breeding, but he has lost close to 17% of his empty weight. It stinks, because he's been a breeding machine.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~