Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,459

1 members and 2,458 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Odd feeding behavior--sick rat?

I searched for this, but didn't find anything. Apologies if it's been brought up before.

I have a 4 month old female spotnose ball python who has always been a pretty aggressive feeder. She's eating small-medium rats once per week with no problem. I got a rat today to feed her and she did something I haven't seen before, but I'm a newbie, so don't know if this is normal. She struck without much hesitation and rolled it like always, held on till I was sure it was dead, and then basically spat him out. He got up and walked away (which shocked me) and she smelled him a few times, but stayed away from him after that till I finally took him out. I thought at first that she might not have been hungry because she's in shed, but she was agitated afterward like she was still hungry. I didn't see any marks on her and didn't see him scratch or bite her, so I don't think he hurt her. However, I did notice a strong fecal smell when he defecated just before she struck and after saw that he had what looked almost to be diarrhea and smelled awful like dog feces. Could he have been sick and that's why she refused him? Aside from the diarrhea, he appeared healthy (well, before she got him...), but obviously he wasn't. Or is it just that she's in shed and wasn't actually hungry, just struck on instinct? I'm going to leave her alone till she's done shedding and then offer her a different rat.