Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,331

2 members and 3,329 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,534
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Snake mites - newbie

hey all, im after some guidance please, i am a newbie.... and after a year of reading up on the ball python i have finally got my first ball python which is just less than a year old.

Ive had him for about 2 weeks and have noticed that he has mites.
    Can you tell me what the best way is to combat these mites please, I have just bought some spray today but im not 100% sure what to do.
    I have also read to bathe your snake but how do you do this? Is it a case of just helping him into his water bowel?

Your help/advise is much appreciated.

Thanks
    Clean the whole tank throw out all substrate clean the hides and water bowls. Spray that on the tank and the hides I believe then add fresh substrate, when i had mites i put my ball in a tub with a lid and water that was bout halfway up his body so he didn't have to swim just soak and that worked form me hope you figure it out soon
    Normals 1.3
    Spider .1
    Carpet Python .1
    Dog APBT .1

3. The Following User Says Thank You to carlson For This Useful Post:

3skulls (12-16-2012)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,776 Times in 1,184 Posts
    I had a rescue that had mites when we first got her.
    I would soak her daily in warm soapy water (not hot and a mild soap)
    Kept her on newspaper and changed it everyday. Also washed her bowl and tub daily. I got some mite spray from the pet store, can't remember the name of it. It was the type that was safe to use on her and the tub.
    I would also clean around her face, eyes, hit pits and under her chin really good. Then I would apply a baby oil in those areas.