Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 498

1 members and 497 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Ziggy31984 (40)

» Stats

Members: 75,014
Threads: 248,474
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, DetectiveIcarus
    Thanks

Signs of illness?

Hi all,
    Just got a new gopher snake, and he seems to be perfectly healthy; he ate two live rat pinkies the day after I got him (he's only about a foot long, baby size I think), and now 5 days later has gone to the bathroom--I only see fecal matter right now, no urates as of yet.
    A few questions as I am new to gopher snakes (and pituophis in general):
    His name is Sundown, and he's very, VERY calm. Is it normal for gophers to be like this? In his tank, he rarely moves, but he DID eat two rat pinkies, so wouldn't that mean he's reasonably healthy? When you pick him up, he squirms a good bit, but once you set him down somewhere he'll cruise around and find a spot he likes and curl up where he's content to sit for 10+ minutes at a time without moving much, unless you move and scare him.
    Is that normal? Should they be more active, like baby corns? Or are they typically very calm?
    He pooped today. It seems perfectly normal to me--looks like my corn snake's feces, nothing crawling in it or diarrhea, though I know parasites can be microscopic. That's a good sign, right?
    He's pretty chubby too. Much fatter than my baby corn snake, anyway! Is that typical of gopher snakes?
    What are signs of illness I should look for? Is too much calmness bad?
    I don't see any mites on him, but I haven't done a ridiculously thorough search yet so as not to stress him out.