Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 809

1 members and 808 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,523
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red Tail Boa?

Thanks

Red Tail Boa?

So my search for a hog island boa is more than likely going to be fruitless because pmherps only has reduced (400$ Can't Do), Vin will not ship after Dec 1, and Rio Bravo MAY have some in January, but I am expecting not. I have no prior experience with snakes, but I am not careless. I am not really interested in a ball python because they are so shy and skiddish. Would a male red tail boa be too much for me for a first time? I REALLY would like a boa because I like their curious nature. Can anyone point me to a good boa? I am a bigger guy, but do not want something I can't handle myself. I was thinking of red tail. I am scared of it becoming 7ft eventually because it will happen over time, and I will have time to accept. Can someone help me out please?
    Last edited by Tyler Ferrell; 11-09-2011 at 06:43 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,841 Times in 1,268 Posts
    If you want a Hog, then wait until you can get a Hog. I want one myself, and they are a smaller "dwarf" boa (of course there are exceptions as I've heard of some getting just as big as Colombians). For price, I just saw some Hogs for sale on KS for $150 shipped.

Ball Pythons are shy and skiddish? That's news to me. Some babies can be but my subadults/big girls (~5 lbs) are all so mellow and easy to handle and will just chill out on my lap. They are very curious as well, but snakes all have different personalities. The more you work with them the calmer they become.