Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,491

0 members and 1,491 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,092
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Registered User Morphing Unicorn's Avatar
    Thanks

new snake questions

I am new to the pet snake world and had a couple questions that I am sure you all see a lot. So I recently got a new pastel male from Garrick Demeyer and he is awesome! He is 2 months old tomorrow and he is about 22 inches. I know the trip here to VA was stressful for him so I got everything set up and tested out before he arrived and transitioned him into his new home as soon as he arrived. I understand you are suppose to let them get used to their new environment and typically not mess with them for a week or so; however, I attempted to feed him the same night and he didn't hesitate at all (atm on small live mice, but will transition him to frozen soon). He ate and I left him alone for two days. So since he arrived he has eaten two good meals with 0 hesitation. I even had a chance to start bonding with him a bit about 5 days after he arrived. He was a bit timid but within the 5-10 min handling session he came out of his ball and was moving around my hands (pic enclosed). He is eating well but is still very timid with me handling him and has struck at me a couple of times. I know that he is still getting used to me but are there anythings that I can do other than continuing to handle him in order to reduce his stress level and understand that I am his caregiver?