Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,308

0 members and 2,308 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Question Are Carpets and Green Tree Pythons the new ball pythons?

I have never been to a reptile show. But I saw a article on kingsnake.com saying carpet pythons are getting a lot more popular. Of course the maze of morphs ball pythons have is unbeatable but do carpets and GTP's have the chance for such diverse morphs? Or big money market like ball pythons?
    A bunch of carpet pythons!
    I guess fake is the new real ?

Thanks

Re: Are Carpets and Green Tree Pythons the new ball pythons?

I'm no expert when it comes to Morelia, but from what I understand selectivity is based more on locale than morphs. There are a few carpet morphs but the different coloration in gtp's is based solely upon locale.

They definitely are becoming more popular, but I don't think they'll ever beat out ball pythons simply because they have more elaborate husbandry requirements (arboreal caging and high humidity levels) and because they aren't ideal snakes for beginner keepers and therefore there are fewer potential buyers. (Not saying this is a bad thing, imo keeping these snakes among experienced keepers is great, it just means that they don't have the same potential for popularity as ball pythons do.)

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Crazy4Herps For This Useful Post:

bigmike (10-09-2011),gman8585 (10-09-2011),h&tmaster (10-30-2011)

Thanks
    i realize this is only one of the points you mentioned ^, but i read carpets dont have such high humidity requirements as many caresheets would have you believe??? again no expert just something i came across
    0.0.1 normal ball python