Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 887

10 members and 877 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 72,271
Threads: 246,281
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, xterling
    Thanks

pythons and dogs

hey guys, im pretty new to keeping pythons as pets, and just got my first ball python around 2 weeks ago. hes doing great, temps are great, and all that jazz. here is my question. i have two dogs. one is a lab/pit mix, and the other is a german short haired pointer. both of them are very inquisitive, and fairly intelligent. every time i have my snake out, they both just sit and stare at it. after i put him away, they just constantly sniff and lick my hands. now, how many of you have snakes and have dogs? have you ever introduced your snake to your dog? how long did it take to where they finally quit fussing over the snake?

Thanks
    I have 4 snakes, 3 ball pythons and 1 rosy boa, and 7 dogs, ranging in size from 6 lbs to 60 lbs. I personally never introduced the snakes to the dogs. I worry that the dog might make a curious bite to check it out and hurt it, or that the dog being close to the snake will stress the snake out. My little dogs that are 6 lbs and 9 lbs are allowed in the room when I have the snakes out, but only if I am holding the snakes, and the dogs have been taught to stay around 6 feet away when the snakes are in my hands. Just the way I do it

Thanks
    thats kind of what i plan on doing. i try to keep them away when i have the snake out, but they end up always sitting right at my feet staring up at him.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,288 Times in 1,090 Posts