Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,188

2 members and 1,186 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,092
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Registered User Unstable3lement's Avatar
    Thanks

Smile Hognose = Complicated?

Anyone have any suggestions as when would be a good time to get a hognose? Meaning, I have 6 snakes right now (2 balls, 3 boas, and a little bitty king)...I am new to the herp world, only 2 years in and I mean I hear from various people that some snakes are more advanced then others. Opinions wanted !

Thanks

Re: Hognose = Complicated?

Quote Originally Posted by Unstable3lement View Post
    Anyone have any suggestions as when would be a good time to get a hognose? Meaning, I have 6 snakes right now (2 balls, 3 boas, and a little bitty king)...I am new to the herp world, only 2 years in and I mean I hear from various people that some snakes are more advanced then others. Opinions wanted !
    I would say with two years of keeping herps you should be more than ready for hognose. I've never kept one but from everything i've read and heard they're pretty basic to care for as long as they are allready eating rodents. Im sure you know they eat mainly amphibians in the wild so it can be a task switching hatchlings over. But if you buy from a breeder they should all ready have this done for you. I guess another issue would be there mild toxicity being a rear fanged venomous animal. But from what i've seen and heard they're one of the most docile snakes in the hobby.

1.1 Fire Ballz 1 Pastel
    1 Mojave .1 Normal
    .1 Pinstripe 2 Corns
    .1 Jungle Corn .1 Pueblan Milk
    .1 Rosy Boa 1 False Water Cobra
    2 Painted Turtles 1 Stink Pot
    1 Miniature Pinscher
    http://www.youtube.com/1980norcal

Thanks