Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,219

1 members and 1,218 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,532
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

BP Hobby/Business...buying adult ball pythons..suggestions

ok well i am new to all of this...I have always loved snakes from an early age but my parents would never allow one in the house..i have been doing lots of research and went to my first reptile show in Hamburg a few weeks ago and enjoyed it ...i want to get into BP breeding in a year or 2...my goal is for it to be a hobby that develops into a business.

questions:

Do a lot of the top reptile breeders have adults for sale even if they do not have them listed on their website? I imagine some do but am not certain...would probably just have to inquire i guess.

Anyone out there who sells BPs, do u find it hard at times to sell or trade away the offspring that you do not want?

has anyone in this business/hobby ever written grants to receive money to help start the business or for upgrading things?

anyone have experiences when it comes to buying things and writing them off as tax write offs ?

Goal:

i mean its the age old saying "gotta spend money to make money"...and if this is to become a business you have to treat it like one..and try to keep ur overhead costs as low as possible.

i would prolly start out with

3-5 Adult Normal Females
    1-2 Morph females
    2 morph males

then every year sell the clutches except for the better morphs or trade up...then from there..w/e money is made..invest in another decent morph

ideally i would like to invest in 1-2 new snakes a year if possible...and i wouldn't think of taking a profit till like year 3-4...

well thanks for your time if you read this post and please go easy on me

Thanks