Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,893

2 members and 2,891 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Starting and Caring for a Colony of Roaches

Starting and Caring for a Colony of Roaches

Several people have asked me to write a general care sheet for roaches, so I'm going to explain what works for me.

I have been breeding Roaches for several years now and I can't begin to express how much easier and cheaper they make keeping invertebrates eating species (Tarantulas, Amphibians, Reptiles, etc). On average, I was spending $20 a week just on crickets. Most looked unhealthy and didn't live long after being purchased. Not to mention they had a slight odor and the noise was barely tolerable at best. Since I made my original purchase of roaches (Which I believe I spent around $100 shipped on a small colony of Lobsters and Dubia), I have yet to purchase one single cricket and the cost of keep my invertebrates eating species has significantly dropped.

The Right Enclosure.

Style - You will need a Colored Sterilite, Rubbermaid or similar Bin. Do not use Clear Plastic as it lets too much light in and for shyer species this can hurt production. I personally prefer Rubbermaid Roughneck for the style.

Size - This is dependent on the size of the colony. A exceptionally large colony might need a 54 Gallon tote, or you can split the colony into two smaller tubs. For a small starter Colony, an equivalent of a ten gallon will suffice.

Ventilation.

Open Lidded - I leave the lids off of my roaches. Ventilation is vital and there's nothing better for the air flow than leaving the lids off. That being said, precautions need to be taken to prevent escapes.