Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,098

1 members and 3,097 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

Is it true what they say about chams?

...That they're difficult to take care of? I've wanted a chameleon ever since I was little, and now that I have some experience with lizards, I've been thinking about it more and more. But recently, two of my friends (who are zookeepers) have been trying to talk me out of my decision.

I know that they need a constant airflow (ventilation), plants and branches for climbing, a UVB light along with temps in the 90s-70s, and daily misting, but does it get any more complicated than that?
    1.1 Ball Python
    1.0 King snake
    1.0 Corn snake
    1.0 Red tail boa
    2.1 Leopard Geckos
    1.0 Hingeback tortoise
    1.0 Senegal parrot

Thanks

Re: Is it true what they say about chams?

they arent as hard to keep as people say. i agree they are not a good first pet or herp, but they imo are easy to care for. they might require a little more attention but anyone can do it. just make sure everything is right and you'll be fine. i say go for it! they are very cool animals. they are just a little more delicate than others. hope i helped

Thanks

Chams are awesome to keep and not too hard as long as your set up right. I make no claim to be an expert, but this worked for my boy, and applies to a lot of the larger species like panthers or veiled.

The basics are:

a ventilated cage (all screen)
    heat lamp (warm spot about 90 F, all the way down to 75 or so at the bottom of the cage)
    UVB bulb, only use the reptisun 5.0. Anything else will damage a chams eyes or not get them the uvb they need.
    lots of branches
    live plants to keep humidity up