Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,920

3 members and 2,917 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
  • 05-14-2021, 01:50 PM
    Butterfly
    Has that umbilical chord a normal size?
    Hi all,
    i am not new to keeping Ball Pythons but i never bred them before. So i am not experienced with this and that.
    I have a clutch with three eggs. After the first one piping out on day 63 i cut the other two. One of them pipe out after that, too.
    the last one is alive cause he is moving but it didnt come out jet, so i take a closer look. I noticed that it has a quite thick umbilical chord on the Belly and i realy dont know if it is normal. I m familiar with the umbilical chords from Boas when they born, they are maybe 2 mm in diameter. But this is massive for me!
    Or is it normal looking like this, when they absorb the yolk before they leave the egg?
    I m affraid that it is become a hard belly. Or am i worrying for nothing and this is total normal looking? Please help!

Oh i forgot to mention that the liquid in this egg looks a little "milky" too. The other two eggs liquid was a little clearer, in my opinion!

Thank you and Greetings from Germany!

https://ball-pythons.net/forums/cach...pR/MG-9503.jpg

I edited this Image:
    https://ball-pythons.net/forums/cach...503-edited.jpg
  • 05-14-2021, 04:07 PM
    Lord Sorril
    Re: Has that umbilical chord a normal size?
    I can't see anything in the photo other than what appears to be too much fluid/yolk for that stage in the development process (possibly due to a lethal failure to develop).
    The only concern I would have for the umbilicus in this case would be that it was damaged while the egg was cut.