Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,777

0 members and 2,777 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,078
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
  • 07-16-2017, 11:42 AM
    themastiffman
    Large adult coastal feeding schedule
    Hello all, I have a 2011 male coastal from Nick Mutton that is my largest snake. All of my other carpets are small locality animals that have settled into a consistent feeding pattern and have maintained nicely over the years. This guy is 8' plus and slightly thicker than a beer can. He would also eat said beer can if I glued some hair to it. He is in great shape and active but seems CONSTANTLY hungry. He gets a large rat every 2 weeks now with the occasional mouse that the balls don't eat. I have been keeping for many years but my other large snake is a male boa and carpet's metabolism is much faster. If he was YOUR snake, just a pet and not a breeder, what would your feeding regimen be? As stated, I don't have any other snakes of his size and was just curious of other carpet keepers opinions. Thanks!
  • 07-16-2017, 12:32 PM
    EL-Ziggy
    Re: Large adult coastal feeding schedule
    I think a large rat every 10-14 days is pretty good. Especially if he's getting a snack occasionally. There are other keepers that feed less frequently but that's my schedule for adult carpets.
  • 07-16-2017, 12:49 PM
    themastiffman
    Thanks ziggy, that is what I thought, but he goes full retic after 7-8 days and even though he looks good I just wanted to see what others thought as I don't have any other big guys to go by. Thanks for the response
  • 07-16-2017, 02:39 PM
    Stewart_Reptiles
    If it was mine I would do medium every 7 or 10 days or large every 10 to 14 days.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk