Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,036

1 members and 2,035 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    BPnet Senior Member Lizardlicks's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 657 Posts

Help with Heating PVC cages

Okay, I have never used PVC caging before, and I've been eyeballing the AP T8s, but I need to balance space and efficiency. Is it possible to rig up the heat sources of multiple PVC caging so they can run together off of one or two t-stat probes? If it is, does anyone have examples of builds with pics? Or am I better off experimenting with custom DIY racks?
    Last edited by Lizardlicks; 02-06-2016 at 11:20 PM.

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    My understanding is that if the cages are identical, and stacked, you can treat the set-up just like a rack.

Thanks

Re: Help with Heating PVC cages

That is what I was under the understanding of as well, but I'm having difficulty wrapping my brain around how it would actually function without some kind of visual. The only thing google results returns for me when I go looking is radiant floor heating :/

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    There is an old HLH Reptiles video about heat tape, and if I recall correctly, he was using it on some stacked plastic enclosures he had.

That might help.
    (I know what you mean about visuals.)

Thanks
    You will need to be cautious about temps as the top cages can be heated by your lower cages.
    I have two 3' cages on top of a 6' pvc enclosure, the 3's use heat tape and the 6' uses a heat panel
    The 3' cage above the radiant heat panel has its thermostat set at 94 to achieve a hotspot of 88-90 whereas the other side is set at 102 to achieve the same hot spot.