Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,904

2 members and 2,902 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma

Thread: Feeding help

Thanks

Feeding help

The place I get feeders has large mice and then small rats. My little guy has been eating 2 small mice usually, occasionally only 1. But they seem awfully small for him. I talked to the people who worked there and by the as big around as his largest coil, a small rat would be okay, but I, as a newb I'm worried about my noodle eating that. Last time i weighed him he was. About 498 grams. Any input would make me feel better. I guess part of what I'm asking is, will they eat something that is too large or will they give up?

Thanks!
    Last edited by wickedpix; 11-25-2014 at 10:11 PM.

Thanks

Re: Feeding help

Hello. For a 498 gram ball python a small mouse is definitely to small for him. Mine are 160 and are eating 1 medium mouse every 6 days. Im not sure about rats because i havent got that far yet but your guy should definitley be able to eat a large mouse with no problem.

BPnet Senior Member
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by wickedpix View Post
    will they eat something that is too large or will they give up?
    Sometimes they will give up, sometimes they will get it down.

If they get it down, there's a chance they regurge if they eat something too big, and you don't want that. Better to feed multiple small prey than something too large.

If you don't feel comfortable eyeballing food sizes yet, see if it's possible to return a rat to to store if needed.