Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,919

1 members and 1,918 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: flexwatt heat.

Account Disabled
    Thanks

flexwatt heat.

I'm planning on getting a dumerils boa in October at the reptile expo and I was wondering if a flexwatt, regulated obviously, only on one side of the vivarium will heat the entire thing or if I'll need another heat source to keep the rest warm. Room temperature will be about 55-60 in winter and 70-76 in summer. I've never used a flexwatt before, only radiant sources(heat lamps and ches), but now I need to stack the cages so I can't use that for the cages with others on top of them, obviously.
    Last edited by TurkeyPython; 08-18-2014 at 08:05 PM.

Thanks
    Flexwatt won't be able to raise the ambient temps. It's only meant to provide belly heat in a designated area of the enclosure.

What kind of enclosures are you using? If you went with something along the lines of an animal plastics T8 you could use the flexwatt as well as a CHE and still be able to stack the enclosures.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,951 Times in 1,357 Posts
    I would try to keep them in a warmer room of the house. 60 in winter is too cold and it would be quite difficult to get your temps where they need to be even with additional supplemental heat.

Personally, I would select a room of the house to keep the snakes and put an oil-filled space heater (also on a t-stat) in the room. Keep the room temps at around 75 and your cages should be good with a controlled hot spot alone.
    ~ Kali
    www.facebook.com/kaliopereptiles

Check out my collection:
    Do you?

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Evenstar For This Useful Post:

DooLittle (08-21-2014)