Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,737

4 members and 2,733 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,083
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, NopeRopeMD
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Registered User sunnyscales2day's Avatar
    Thanks

new herper with new Hogg Island boa, please give advice

Hello, I am new to keeping snakes, I've had a ball python normal for abt. 8mos now and I just acquired an adult female Hogg Island boa. I have had her for almost 2 weeks and I have fed her once, 3 days ago-3 medium rats, because it's what I had on hand and she seems skinny to me. Which leads to my first question, how can I tell if she is a healthy weight? She has folds of skin on her neck and just looks thin, even for a slender snake.
    Also she has very audible breathing and appears to breathe a lot faster than my adult ball python. At first I thought she was hissing quietly at me when I first got her because of being bought and taken to a new place by a new person while being in the blue, pre shed. But I held her today for the first time and noticed that every breath she exhales sounds forced with a slight whistle and a little the same as she starts to inhale. Is it possible she's just anxious and hissing with every breath? She seemed anxious at first when I got her out of her bin, but I got her to calm down and perch on my shoulder for a few minutes before I put her up but the audible breathing/whistle never stopped. These might be stupid questions but please help?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,841 Times in 1,268 Posts
    Do you have photos?