Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,312

2 members and 3,310 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

calling all electricians. need some help with thermostat

Ok so heres my dilema. I have a walk in incubator with a space heater as my heat source. Ive been using a johnsons control non prop stat for a few years and its works fine and ive never had any issues with eggs with the temp flucuations. The temps flucuate from 91 to 86 but usually sticks around 89. Now i know these are fine for incubating and like i said ive never had issues with eggs and have incubated hundreds of eggs in this setup. But im a perfectionist and try to do whatever i can to have things perfect. And im a little ocd about this. So my question is why is there not a prop stat on the market that can handle the wattage from a space heater? Is there a way i can open up the stat and upgrade something, or bigger fuse, or what? Why can a non prop stat handle the wattage but a prop stat cant? Is there any way i can tweak one into doing what i want it to do? I have helixs on my freedom breeders and like the way they work but im bummed i cant get it to work with my incubator. If im stuck with a non prop stat then so be it, it works fine but id like to fine tune my incubation temps because ocd is getting the better of me.
    [IMG][/IMG]

BPnet Veteran The Serpent Merchant's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,300 Times in 2,344 Posts