Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,855

1 members and 2,854 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Flexwatt in AP Cages

I recently purchased some 4'x2'x15" AP cages. I got the 11" Flexwatt from them as well that measures 11"x20". My question is will this be sufficient to heat the cages? I currently have them hooked up to a Herpstat 4. My temperature is set at around 98F in one cage and 93.5F in another (I set them high last night to see if it would raise the cage temp. My snakes are NOT in there yet). Unfortunately the inside of the cages only have a small hot spot around 83/85F and to say I'm frustrated would be an understatement.

I am new with operating my enclosures with a thermostat and flexwatt so perhaps I'm missing something. Any advise or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,206 Posts

Re: Flexwatt in AP Cages

Flexwatt is not intended to heat an entire enclosure, only a localized spot on the floor of the cage. In many cases, the temperature you would have to reach at the hot spot to heat a cage to proper ambient temp would cause serious burns on your snakes (definitely good thinking to test it out before putting them in there). Raise the thermostat temp until you achieve the correct hot spot temp (measured with a heat gun or digital thermometer), and then check if you ambient temp is sufficient. If not, you will either need supplemental heat or to raise the temperature of the room you have the cages in.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Annarose15 For This Useful Post:

fortoday634 (02-07-2012)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Annarose15 View Post