Scheduled Site maintenance this weekend. More Information.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ













» Current Poll

BPOM -- May 2013 -- VOTE!!
1
5.31%
2
0.88%
3
12.39%
4
10.62%
5
4.42%
6
4.42%
7
1.77%
8
28.32%
9
0%
10
3.54%
11
9.73%
12
0%
13
16.81%
14
1.77%
Total Votes: 113
You may not vote on this poll.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 30,889
Threads: 176,795
Posts: 1,863,978
Top Poster: JLC (30,050)
Welcome to our newest member, kendra319

» May 2013

S M T W T F S
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
Page 1 of 50 1234567891011 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 493

Thread: Ballbids.com

  1. #1
    BPnet Veteran Ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    07-09-2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 88 Times in 60 Posts

    Ballbids.com

    Anybody else seen this? It just popped up on my facebook homepage. It looks like it's one of those 1-penny-at-a-time bidding websites, but for ball pythons. I feel like it's a leeeetle sketchy. Where are the snakes coming from? Interestingly enough, there have been no winners yet and there isn't any customer feedback.

    Either I don't like it because it's a serious market crasher, or I don't like it because it's false advertising and a scam/rip-off.

    http://www.facebook.com/BallBids?sk=app_190322544333196
    0.1 07 Normal "Bigsnake"
    1.0 08 Lesser "Congo"
    1.0 06 100% het pied "Reptar"
    0.1 06 100% het pied "Cuddles"

  2. #2
    Registered User ReptilesK2's Avatar
    Join Date
    08-06-2011
    Posts
    450
    Thanks
    494
    Thanked 159 Times in 151 Posts
    Just saw that on kingsnake and I just registered to check it out..

    It's not really 1 cent each bid.. you have to buy bids and theyre about 55 cents each.
    [6.18 Ball Pythons ]

    Clown, Champagne, Pied, Pastel Lesser, Enchi, Fire
    Albino, Bumble Bee, Pewter, Black Pastel, Lesser, Pastel Het Pied, 2 Mojaves, 2 Pastels Het OG, 2 Spiders, 3 Het Pieds, 3 Normals


  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    12-08-2004
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Those penny bids are a scam. One person get a good deal, and everyone else loses a little money. In the end the seller gets way overpaid. I saw some consumer report about them, and basically they would end up taking in something like $3000 for a $499 iPad.

  4. #4
    BPnet Veteran Ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    07-09-2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 88 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Ballbids.com

    Quote Originally Posted by ReptilesK2 View Post
    Just saw that on kingsnake and I just registered to check it out..

    It's not really 1 cent each bid.. you have to buy bids and theyre about 55 cents each.
    Yeah, I was intrigued by the prospect of a free fire ball, but I'm not too sure I even want it unless I know who the breeder was. :/ I feel like these bidding websites would be more popular if they were real. Nobody would pass it up if it was actually possible to get a TV for like $10, like the ads say.
    0.1 07 Normal "Bigsnake"
    1.0 08 Lesser "Congo"
    1.0 06 100% het pied "Reptar"
    0.1 06 100% het pied "Cuddles"

  5. #5
    BPnet Veteran Ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    07-09-2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 88 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Ballbids.com

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew00 View Post
    Those penny bids are a scam. One person get a good deal, and everyone else loses a little money. In the end the seller gets way overpaid. I saw some consumer report about them, and basically they would end up taking in something like $3000 for a $499 iPad.
    Makes sense. So it's essentially a lottery? I'd love to know who is running the site. I wanna do a BOI.
    0.1 07 Normal "Bigsnake"
    1.0 08 Lesser "Congo"
    1.0 06 100% het pied "Reptar"
    0.1 06 100% het pied "Cuddles"

  6. #6
    BPnet Veteran jbean7916's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-02-2010
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    323
    Thanked 270 Times in 233 Posts
    Images: 2
    Theres a post about it on google+ I can't link from my phone but will when I get home

    sent from my EVO
    1.0 Spider "Charlie"
    1.1 Normal "Precious" "Chumley"
    0.1 Pastel "Sweet Dee"
    1.1 Mojave "Stewie" "Little Bit"
    0.1 Lesser "Sally"
    1.0 Pied "Jack"
    1.0 Nile Monitor "Superman"
    0.1 Bearded Dragons "Snookie"
    0.0.1 Sulcuta Tortoise "Kenny Powers"
    1.0 Chocolate lab "Dante"
    1.0 Now snake obsessed boyfriend

  7. #7
    Registered User therunaway's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-22-2011
    Location
    Charleston West Virginia
    Posts
    808
    Thanks
    113
    Thanked 128 Times in 110 Posts
    i registered to just to see, the person who owns it claims the fire is from constrictors unlimited, buttttttt, i dnt know :/ seems a bit phishy.
    Reptiles
    0.0.1 - Normal Python Regius, Monty
    0.1.0 - ID Need Rhacodactylus Ciliatus, Cheerio

    Mammals
    1.1 - Canines, Little Man & Molly

  8. #8
    BPnet Veteran KatStoverReptiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    01-01-2011
    Location
    Belleville, IL
    Posts
    1,370
    Thanks
    324
    Thanked 535 Times in 438 Posts

    Re: Ballbids.com

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasonx View Post
    i registered to just to see, the person who owns it claims the fire is from constrictors unlimited, buttttttt, i dnt know :/ seems a bit phishy.
    I, too, had this pop up on my facebook today. Maybe someone who knows someone at Constrictors Unlimited could contact them and ask about the legitimacy of their claims? If the snakes are not coming from there, Constrictors Unlimited may want to take action to disassociate themselves with this company.

    I've heard that if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. This may very well be the case here.
    ~Kat



  9. #9
    SlitherinSisters's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-26-2008
    Location
    SE Iowa
    Posts
    12,192
    Thanks
    1,544
    Thanked 3,161 Times in 2,973 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Images: 66
    I think it looks like a scam as well, but then again I think gambling and the lottery are scams too. I mean, the auction isn't a scam if you win, but it makes you think you are only spending a penny on the animal, when you actually paid $.55 for each bid you placed. The only smart way to go about it would be to wait till the very last second to bid, anyone bidding from the start is just wasting bids/money.
    Stephanie
    www.slitherinsisters.com
    2.2 cats, 1.0 long haired Chihuahua, 0.1 Doberman Pinscher, 1.1 Chinchillas, and 0.1 horse
    Slitherin' Sisters on Facebook!

  10. #10
    BPnet Veteran Slashmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    08-04-2010
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 85 Times in 63 Posts
    Images: 4
    Raphael seems to think it's legit...
    http://www.facebook.com/MAballs.net/...36939526371484

    The owner of the site is commenting there too.

Page 1 of 50 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1