Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,848

1 members and 2,847 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Heat pack question

So I know most people use the 24 or 40 hour heat packs from Uni-heat to ship their snakes, but I read that they can reach up to 140 degrees.
    I found out Uni-heat makes tropical fish heat packs that only reach about 70 degrees and last 20 hours. Could these be used to ship snakes?
    70 seems a little less likely to accidentally fry snakes.

I'm new to shipping (2 boxes shipped so far, both arrived safely).
    If you're shipping from CT to CA, they send them via plane right?
    I mean...if you have 60 degrees in CT, you would want to use a heat pack, but then CA is reading 85...I would be worried about overheating the snake with a heat pack that hits 140 degrees.

Thanks in advance...

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,689 Times in 1,200 Posts
    Anything less than a 40hr heat pack will end up causing snake to freeze. Ive tested 40 hour heat packs in 82F room and surface temp never exceeded 115F. And being in a Plane which is winter up at 35k feet will keep box roughly in the 50F.

I just shipped a snake from Michigan(low 53) to Texas(low70) with 40 hour heat pack, snake didnt over heat but arrived Cool.

your shipment from CT to CA depends on over night lows not highs. Since i ship hub to hub i never pay attention to the highs as their never exposed to them.

Thanks